STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT C5-87-843

ORDER APPOINTING MINNESOTA ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION TASK FORCE

A ...

WHEREAS, concern about rising legal costs, perceived court delay, and the desireability of non-adversarial proceedings have resulted in the establishment of alternative dispute resolution processes; and

WHEREAS, it is in the public interest that alternative dispute resolution processes assure fundamental fairness among the parties and promote the effective and efficient administration of justice; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota State Bar Association has requested the formation of a joint task force of the Bar Association and this Court to study alternative dispute resolution in Minnesota;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Minnesota Alternative Dispute Resolution Task Force be, and hereby is, established to:

- 1. Study the growing field of alternative dispute resolution and assess its promise for resolving disputes more efficiently, at less cost and with greater satisfaction to the parties;
- 2. Determine the need for procedural standardization, program certification, and qualification requirements for the conduct of alternative dispute resolution processes to protect the public and to promote fairness among the parties involved in the process;
- 3. Explore the appropriate role of the judicial system with respect to alternative dispute resolution processes and programs;
- 4. Recommend actions necessary to strengthen and expand the appropriate uses of alternative dispute resolution processes; and
- 5. Report the results of its work to the Legislature and to this Court.

1

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed to the Alternative Dispute Resolution Task Force:

Honorable John E. Simonett Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-3314

Honorable Ancy Morse Judge of District Court Olmsted County Courthouse Rochester, MN 55901 (507) 285-8107

Senator William P. Luther 205 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-8869

Ms. Barbara McAdoo, Exec. Director Mediation Center 445 N. Griggs Midway Building 1821 University Avenue St. Paul, MN 55104 (612) 644-1453

Ms. Mary S. Alton 480 Cedar Street #110 St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 297-8484

Mr. Leonard J. Keyes 332 MN Street #W2200 St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 291-1215

Mr. Richard A. Miller 12 Sixth Street S #1208 Minneapolis, MN 55402 (612) 333-5831 Honorable Charles A. Flinn Judge of District Court Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 298-6968

Ms. Sue Knudson Dosal State Court Administrator 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2474

Representative Kenneth J. Kludt 421 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-5515

Mr. James Alan Jorgenson 1679 Hague Avenue St. Paul, MN 55104 (612) 644-6365

Mr. David L. Boehnen 220 Sixth Street S #2200 Minneapolis, MN 55402 (612) 340-2718

Ms. Janie S. Mayeron 80 Eighth Street S #4344 Minneapolis, MN 55402 (612) 333-4800

Mr. Gary A. Weissman 100 Fifth Street S #1500 Minneapolis, MN 55402 (612) 337-1635 Mr. DePaul D. Willette P.O. Box 148 Olivia, MN 56277 (612) 523-1322

¥

Ms. Shirley Brantingham 480 Cedar Street- Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 292-4650

Ms. Sue Reynolds 146 West Pleasant Lake Road North Oaks, MN 55110 (612) 490-0338 Mr. Bernard Brommer 175 Aurora Avenue St. Paul, MN 55103 (612) 227-7647

Mr. Jack McGill 2010 17th Street, S.E. #99 Rochester, MN 55904 (507) 285-1007

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable Charles A. Flinn Jr. be, and hereby is, appointed as chairperson of that Committee.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that staff assistance shall be provided jointly by the Office of the State Court Administrator and the Minnesota State Bar Association.

Dated: May <u>4</u>, 1987

BY THE COURT

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS FILED

MAY 4 1987

WAYNE TSCHIMPERLE CLERK

tall Douglas K. Amdahl

Chief Justice